世界上最大的公司的收入

0
763

免責聲明:此處提供的材料為一般信息和教育目的。我們提供我們的價值投資原則應該如何適用,對討論的目的是描述性病例研究。它應該而且必須不能被理解為任何形式的一般或具體的財務建議。我們不建議或提供關於怎樣還是怎樣,你應該投資。通過閱讀價值投資提供了學院的任何材料,您特此承認,你應該總是作出任何投資決定前,做自己的研究和獨立的評估意見。應要求特定的財務諮詢,請諮詢下,財務顧問法案註冊的相關專業的財務顧問。

公司名稱:沃爾瑪連鎖公司

沃爾瑪,標誌2014  - 沃爾瑪,標誌

股票名稱/股票代碼:沃爾瑪公司/ WMT

覆蓋區域:美國

blueit

沃爾瑪百貨有限公司,做生意如沃爾瑪,是經營大賣場,折扣店和雜貨連鎖店的美國跨國零售公司。

總部設在阿肯色州本頓維爾,該公司是由薩姆·沃爾頓於1962年成立,並於1969年10月31日,合併為2016年1月31日,沃爾瑪在27個國家11528店,共72旗幟下。

Walmart is the world's largest company by revenue, according to the Fortune Global 500 list in 2014, as well as the biggest private employer in the world with 2.2 million employees. Walmart is a family-owned business controlled by the Walton family. Their holding company, Walton Enterprises, is one of the world's most valuable companies by market value, and is also the largest grocery retailer in the U.S. In 2015, it generated 59.8 percent of its US$288 billion sales in the U.S. from its grocery business.

The company was listed on the New York Stock Exchange in 1972. In the late 1980s and early 1990s, the company rose from a regional to a national giant. By 1988, Walmart was the most profitable retailer in the U.S. and by October 1989, it had become the largest in terms of revenue. Walmart is also ranked the world's 18th largest public corporation by revenue, according to the Forbes Global 2000 list. Wal-Mart has tremendous real estate holdings (95+% of US store base is owned) and 35% of international stores.

出乎意料的是,沃爾瑪的股價已經嚴重落後於零售行業與大盤在2015年,在一年壯觀的石油價格下跌和大宗商品價格的崩潰的最差,2015年道指成份股。由於零售商以更低的費用在這樣的環境中工作,這是罕見的。

沃爾瑪最近關閉269店全球,結束了失敗的沃爾瑪快遞。在另一方面商店關閉僅佔總銷售額的1%。一般來說,企業在日常消費品的企業可以增加他們的利潤,並最終他們的股票價格通過降低成本。

我們認為,該公司仍然在給定的翻滾石油和天然氣價格的競爭優勢,考慮到2016年其特殊的股票的表現與自歲末年初增加了7 +%。最近其戰略的公佈,通過拾取和電子商務的連接,以增加其超市每平方英尺數量銷售,加上自己一貫的股息增長,回購,自由現金流水平,其目前的估值會繼續吸引收益的投資者。隨著美國的高風險進入衰退,沃爾瑪應作為一個飛行中的股票,以安全,如果標普500指數繼續下跌。

blueem

我們認為,沃爾瑪公司,擁有雄厚的經濟護城河。

沃爾瑪的商業模式是基於以低廉的價格出售各種各樣的一般商品。美國沃爾瑪的顧客平均收入低於全國平均水平,分析師估計,其中超過五分之一沒有銀行帳戶。 2006年的沃爾瑪報告還指出,沃爾瑪的客戶較高的公用設施成本和天然氣價格的敏感。

"Saving people money so they can live better lives". This reflects the three main groups into which Wal-Mart categorizes its 200 million customers: "brand aspirationals" (people with low incomes who are obsessed with names like KitchenAid), "price-sensitive affluents" (wealthier shoppers who love deals), and "value-price shoppers" (people who like low prices and cannot afford much more).

研究發現,一些小城鎮可以在十年之內沃爾瑪店開業失去了零售業的一半。沃爾瑪進入一個新的市場,對競爭對手產生深遠的影響。當沃爾瑪在一個新的市場打開,平均銷售下降在類似的高容量存儲的40%,在超市17%,在藥店6%。

piecbl

沃爾瑪有平均10年EPS為7.29%的速度增長。

較低的百分比報導在最近的5年。隨著2015年12月的上thestreet.com報導,相比去年同季時,他們的經營現金淨流量已增至4,903.00億$ 37.33或%。該公司超過了-5.70%的行業平均現金流增長速度。他們保持健康的股東資金回報率在過去的10年〜19%讀數。

債務與股東權益比率偏低,目前為0.56,而低於行業平均水平,這意味著出現了債務水平的管理比較成功的努力。雖然公司擁有強大的債務與股東權益比率,0.17速動比率是非常弱的,並表明缺乏支付短期債務的能力。

毛利潤率只有25%,雖然它已成功地從同期增加無論沃爾瑪的低利潤率的最後一年。儘管毛利率的結果好壞參半,沃爾瑪的2.81%,淨利潤率相比,毫不遜色於行業平均水平。我們將率3/4 PIEC得分。

riskbl

The possible risks include inflation and science & technology risks. Wal-Mart falls under the consumer staples sector, and characterized as noncyclical. Non-cyclical stocks are expected to outperform the market when economic growth slows due to their low price elasticity of demand. However, as there are many options to shop for low prices among competitors, this leaves Wal-Mart little room to raise prices of increase demand for their products, which eventually cutting on the profit margin. The power of change Internet has brought into people’s lives is indisputable. The convenience of online shopping has since replaced the need to have to leave home to shop for clothing, home essentials, groceries and etc. Wal-Mart is compelled to invest even more over the past several years as online sales, as a whole, continue to show massive growth. Cost remains a big issue for Wal-Mart’s experiment with online service.

bluevp

使用VIC計算器,我們發現,沃爾瑪實現了7個工作信心水平相應的分析。基於7.29%的長期每股盈利增長率,目前的價格被高估安全緣陰性。

儘管在過去10年中穩步增加紅利支付,以2.85%的股息最新達不到我們要求的5%的股息率。 2.7目前的P / B表示,該股票被高估。

雖然沃爾瑪擁有最低的P / B(目標;在3.8第2最低),零售集團的最高股息收益率(1.75%平均值),這些估值比率留下一個很大的差距,以滿足我們的要求。沃爾瑪是更多的考慮到其緩慢但穩定增長的保本(資產播放)。這股既不是估值具吸引力,投資者尋求收益驅動的價格升值,也不分紅的發揮。

基於對關鍵比率的預測數字的FY17指引,我們將再次由2016年最後一個季度它的除了我們的投資組合審查此股票。

vpwm1111

mnobl

沃爾瑪公司,是由格雷戈里·B·彭納,女婿沃爾頓推上和孫子在法律山姆·沃爾頓,誰擔任董事會主席的領導。董明倫擔任總裁兼首席執行官。沃爾瑪是一個 家族企業,由控制 沃爾頓家族. After Sam Walton's death in 1992, Don Soderquist, Chief Operating Officer and Senior Vice Chairman, became known as the "Keeper of the Culture”. Sam Walton's heirs own over 50 percent of Walmart through their holding company, Walton Enterprises, and through their individual holdings. Wal-Mart is governed by a fifteen-member Board of Directors elected annually by shareholders.

企業actionsb

沃爾瑪的最後除息日為2月19日,2015年董事會批准了每股1.96 $財政2016年度分紅,同比增長相比,每股1.92 $財政2015年年度股息,較連續42年分紅增加。 2016年財政年度,年度分紅將在每股0.49 $四次季度分期支付。

cawm1

股東回報率是通過分紅和股票回購提供。

鈣

Huat的因素BL

沃爾瑪營銷策略

沃爾瑪有計劃加強supercentre格式,優化鄰里市場,增加供應鏈的能力,並與客戶建立數字關係,都在努力增加從2016年起,他們的銷售。

huat1

鈣

低收入群體為核心的客戶

該公司的核心客戶落在35000每年收入群體的$。由於在天然氣和能源費用支出佔可支配收入與高收入人口的百分之較大,增量現金優惠預計將尤為嚴重。平均司機將節省大約每月$ 38的氣體在第四季度,根據彭博Intelligence數據。總體而言,消費者是根據摩根大通天然氣價格較低也可能讓消費者在沃爾瑪更頻繁地購物消費80%的商品和服務他們的天然氣儲蓄。

私人運輸車隊

大多數零售商外包地面交通運輸公司。然而沃爾瑪有自己巨大的私人運輸車隊由6,650送貨卡車,從沃爾瑪的配送中心到其商店直接遞送其商品的80%。沃爾瑪將實現由於目前天然氣價格通縮顯著的成本效益。

對供應商沒有上架費

不像許多其他的零售商,沃爾瑪不收取上架費(上市費用),以供應商為他們的產品出現在賣場。相反,它著重於銷售更多大眾化的產品,並提供了商店經理放棄不受歡迎的產品獎勵。該公司的戰略一直是提供最低的價格成為可能,實質上削弱所有傳統零售商。

電子商務投資

沃爾瑪已經瘋狂地試圖加強其網上存在承擔其最大的競爭對手,Amazon.com之一。沃爾瑪已投入更多的資源到其電子商務平台,測試要快航運服務,甚至使用在其交付無人機。沃爾瑪加快了免費接送機服務,在線食品雜貨帶來商店,提供服務140在25個市場的數量。董事沃爾瑪董事會由IT專家,包括瑪麗莎·梅耶A.,誰是雅虎公司和凱文·斯特羅姆的總裁兼首席執行官,誰是CEO和聯合創始人,Instagram的的。

網上雜貨免費接送服務

沃爾瑪充分利用其4,500+美國商店在降低運輸成本,為客戶給他們一個更好的激勵在網上購物。沃爾瑪的站點到店計劃,並於2007年3月推出,使walmart.com客戶的免費送貨選項在網上購買商品,並有運到取貨最近的囤貨。畢竟,研究表明,網上訂購成本比製作實體店購買50%以上。沃爾瑪是面向客戶辦理店內網上訂單的皮卡,最近在亞特蘭大一個100萬平方英尺的設施將其完全優化的物流中心,以五開幕。

動態定價

動態定價是調整幾乎每天都在其產品價格的亞馬遜的方式。最近,沃爾瑪網上的價格仍然亞馬遜的5%以內,並已與幾乎亞馬遜式的規律性轉移。亞馬遜的價格和沃爾瑪之間的區區5%的差異是最好的任何在線零售商。

工資上漲及員工培訓

沃爾瑪還通過提高工資,改善培訓和提高效益,都在努力減少周轉,提高生產效率,並使其門店為顧客更舒適的投資及其員工。加強培訓,提高員工支付和電子商務的收益應該能夠提升銷售的客戶在其上承載更多的利潤較高的大件物品。

這些行動將導致盈利在今年和明年都下降,根據公司。一旦這些短期阻力被克服,自由現金流將返回(如果不增加)前的水平。

huat3

付款方式

沃爾瑪目前主要集中在其他付款方式,如採用六及十二個月,零利息貸款的增加,使得它更低收入消費者負擔得起。

Wal-Mart also introduced its first-ever mobile payment system called “Walmart Pay.” The payment system can be linked to any major credit card, debit card, prepaid credit card, or Walmart gift card. The mobile app also works with both “iOS”- and “Android”-based devices. With the launch of Walmart Pay, the company becomes the only retailer to offer its own customized payment solution to customers. The payment feature will be launched nationwide by the first half of 2016.

關於沃爾瑪支付整潔的部分是不是成為“蘋果付費,”對手公司模仿別的東西 - 星巴克的應用程序。自推出以來咖啡巨頭的應用程序的移動支付功能就突飛猛進。目前,移動支付佔所有星巴克的'在美國店內交易的20%,增加一倍以上,從一年前的身影。由支付功能集成到應用程序沃爾瑪,沃爾瑪可以享受一些比較大的:誰已經在積極每個月使用沃爾瑪應用22萬客戶。沃爾瑪應用程序也同時在蘋果和谷歌的應用商店排名前三的零售應用的行列。

店鋪關閉

As Wal-Mart grows more in areas such as superstores and e-commerce, it will wind down markets and stores where it hasn't been able to make an impact. In Brazil, for example, the company will close 60 stores as profit margins are too low. The stores that are being closed represent less than 1% of both global square footage and turnover which means earnings will only be adversely impacted in the near term before e-commerce and pick-up gain more traction

這應該是收益的投資者,該公司正在審慎和自律就是了如何成長的好消息。沃爾瑪的策略是顯著增加每平方英尺的銷售額在其超市的淨金額。保護金融是關鍵;因此預計至少在季度股息上升2%,至每股$ 0.50的2017年財。

sianfactorsbl

沃爾瑪可能的缺點包括以下內容:

工資上漲和培訓員工

沃爾瑪不斷質問超過其低工資的工人。繼獲得更高的工資,在2015年2月的希望黑色星期五2014期間,沃爾瑪員工的罷工,沃爾瑪宣布計劃上調其在美國員工的最低工資標準,從最低工資到$ 9 /小時,2015年,再次到10 $ /小時在2016年。

雖然這應該有助於解決沃爾瑪的員工高流失率,它是在一個陡峭的成本。該公司估計,工資上漲將花費額外的$ 1.2十億和$ 1.5十億分別在2015年和2016年,沃爾瑪還承諾將繼續為員工提供培訓,以幫助促進職業發展。

電子商務的投資

網上購物仍然是增長的一個巨大的區域和亞馬遜佔據了空間。沃爾瑪正試圖採取一些股票從它的競爭對手遠;然而這一舉措需要時間和資源。

沃爾瑪的電子商務銷售增速已經從2013年第三季度期間記錄到只有10%〜30%,第3季度到2015年期間,放慢前9個月,當年沃爾瑪的網上銷售總額為$ 13.2十億,比較到$ 71.8十億亞馬遜,但亞馬遜報告的最後一個季度23%的銷售增長,展示了兩家公司之間的巨大鴻溝。沃爾瑪仍然是第二大網上零售商,但可能失去太多市場份額,它的競爭對手,如果其網上銷售增長繼續其下降通道。

得出結論,純收入與工資上漲,電子商務的投資和大型超市的重新建模進一步下跌。高架資本支出支出會破壞長期沃爾瑪投資者的現金流(影響回購和股息增長率)始終較小時,更多的錢被泵回業務。

然而,由於頂線,已經阻礙了沃爾瑪美國,市場情緒偏空轉變歸因於勞動力/電子商務投資的盈利壓力,並符合市場預期已復位,我們可以看到在這一點小的增量收益的風險。

[由榮龍鹼液,馬來西亞寫在2016年3月16日案例]

參考文獻:

[1]資料改編自晨星網站:

http://financials.morningstar.com/ratios/r.html?t=WMT&region=usa&culture=en-US

[2]從阿米戈公牛中提取信息:

http://amigobulls.com/articles/why-the-bearish-commentary-on-wal-mart-stock-is-overblown

[3]從CNBC提取信息:

http://www.cnbc.com/2016/01/12/whats-behind-wal-marts-lonely-rally.html

[4]從維基百科中提取信息:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Walmart

[5]從巴倫提取信息:

http://blogs.barrons.com/stockstowatchtoday/2015/12/14/why-tumbling-oil-prices-are-great-news-for-wal-mart/

[7]從市場觀察中提取信息:

http://www.marketwatch.com/story/wal-mart-aided-by-low-oil-prices-was-the-only-dow-stock-in-positive-territory-today-2016-01-07

[8]從Bloomberg提取信息:

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2015-12-14/wal-mart-seen-as-big-winner-from-oil-dropping-below-35-a-barrel

[9]從華爾街提取信息:

http://247wallst.com/retail/2016/02/18/why-wal-mart-is-the-best-dow-stock-so-far-in-2016/

[10]信息從Investopedia提取:

http://www.investopedia.com/articles/economics/08/consumer-staples.asp

http://www.investopedia.com/articles/markets/111115/why-walmarts-stock-price-keeps-falling.asp

[11]信息從金融郵提取:

http://business.financialpost.com/news/retail-marketing/how-wal-mart-stores-inc-stands-to-win-big-from-oil-below-35-a-barrel

[12]信息從利潤保密提取:

http://www.profitconfidential.com/stock/wmt-stock-could-this-catalyst-send-wal-mart-stores-inc-soaring/

[13]信息從福布斯提取:

http://www.forbes.com/sites/timworstall/2015/12/15/the-biggest-beneficiary-of-the-oil-price-collapse-could-be-walmart-itself/#7a856a6d205e

[14]信息從傻瓜提取:

http://www.fool.com/investing/general/2016/03/11/forget-costco-wholesale-corporation-here-are-2-bet.aspx?source=iedfolrf0000001

沒有評論

發表評論

The World’s Largest Company by Revenue

0
756

Disclaimer: The material provided here is for general information and educational purposes only. We are providing descriptive case studies on how our Value Investing principles should be applied, for discussion purposes. It should and must not be construed as any form of general or specific financial advice. We do not recommend or provide opinions on how or what you should be investing in. By reading any material provided by Value Investing College, you are hereby acknowledging that you should always do your own research and independent assessment before making any investment decisions. Should specific financial advice be required, please consult relevant professional financial advisers registered under the Financial Advisers Act.

Company Name: Wal-Mart Stores Inc.

walmart-logo-2014-walmart-logo

Stock Name/Ticker: Wal-Mart Stores Inc. / WMT

Coverage Region: USA

 

blueit

Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., doing business as Wal-Mart, is an American multinational retail corporation that operates a chain of hypermarkets, discount department stores and grocery stores.

Headquartered in Bentonville, Arkansas, the company was founded by Sam Walton in 1962 and incorporated on October 31, 1969. As of January 31, 2016, Walmart has 11,528 stores in 27 countries, under a total of 72 banners.

Walmart is the world's largest company by revenue, according to the Fortune Global 500 list in 2014, as well as the biggest private employer in the world with 2.2 million employees. Walmart is a family-owned business controlled by the Walton family. Their holding company, Walton Enterprises, is one of the world's most valuable companies by market value, and is also the largest grocery retailer in the U.S. In 2015, it generated 59.8 percent of its US$288 billion sales in the U.S. from its grocery business.

The company was listed on the New York Stock Exchange in 1972. In the late 1980s and early 1990s, the company rose from a regional to a national giant. By 1988, Walmart was the most profitable retailer in the U.S. and by October 1989, it had become the largest in terms of revenue. Walmart is also ranked the world's 18th largest public corporation by revenue, according to the Forbes Global 2000 list. Wal-Mart has tremendous real estate holdings (95+% of US store base is owned) and 35% of international stores.

Unexpectedly, Wal-Mart stock has badly underperformed the retail sector and the broader market in 2015, being the worst 2015 Dow stock during a year of spectacular oil price declines and a collapse of commodity prices. This is uncommon as retailers operate at lower expenses in such an environment.

Wal-Mart has recently closed 269 stores globally and ended the unsuccessful Wal-Mart Express. The store closures on the other hand only accounted for 1% of total sales. Generally, companies in the business of consumer staples can grow their profits and ultimately their stock prices by reducing costs.

We believe that the company is still at competitive advantage given tumbling oil and gas prices, considering its exceptional stock’s performance in 2016 with a 7+% increase since the turn of the year. The recent announcement of its strategy to increase the sales per square foot number in its superstores through pick up and e-commerce connectivity, coupled with their consistent dividend growth, buybacks, free cash flow levels and its present valuation will keep on attracting income investors. With a high risk of the US entering a recession, Wal-Mart should act as a flight to safety in equities if the S&P 500 continues to fall.

 

blueem

We view Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., possesses strong economic moat.

Wal-Mart business model is based on selling a wide variety of general merchandise at low prices. The average U.S. Wal-Mart customer's income is below the national average, and analysts estimated that more than one-fifth of them lack a bank account. A 2006 Wal-Mart report also indicated that Wal-Mart customers are sensitive to higher utility costs and gas prices.

"Saving people money so they can live better lives". This reflects the three main groups into which Wal-Mart categorizes its 200 million customers: "brand aspirationals" (people with low incomes who are obsessed with names like KitchenAid), "price-sensitive affluents" (wealthier shoppers who love deals), and "value-price shoppers" (people who like low prices and cannot afford much more).

Study found that some small towns can lose almost half of their retail trade within ten years of a Wal-Mart store opening. Wal-Mart's entry into a new market has a profound impact on its competition. When a Wal-Mart opens in a new market, median sales drop 40 percent at similar high-volume stores, 17 percent at supermarkets and 6 percent at drugstores.

 

piecbl

Wal-Mart has an average 10-years EPS growth rate of 7.29%.

Lower percentage is reported in the recent 5 years. As of Dec 2015 reported on thestreet.com, their net operating cash flow has increased to $4,903.00 million or 37.33% when compared to the same quarter last year. The firm exceeded the industry average cash flow growth rate of -5.70%. They maintain healthy RoE reading at ~19% in the last 10 years.

The debt-to-equity ratio is somewhat low, currently at 0.56, and is less than that of the industry average, implying that there has been a relatively successful effort in the management of debt levels. Even though the company has a strong debt-to-equity ratio, the quick ratio of 0.17 is very weak and demonstrates a lack of ability to pay short-term obligations.

The gross profit margin is only at 25%, although it has managed to increase from the same period last year regardless of Wal-Mart's low profit margin. Despite the mixed results of the gross profit margin, Wal-Mart's net profit margin of 2.81% compares favorably to the industry average. We would rate PIEC score of ¾.

 

riskbl

The possible risks include inflation and science & technology risks. Wal-Mart falls under the consumer staples sector, and characterized as noncyclical. Non-cyclical stocks are expected to outperform the market when economic growth slows due to their low price elasticity of demand. However, as there are many options to shop for low prices among competitors, this leaves Wal-Mart little room to raise prices of increase demand for their products, which eventually cutting on the profit margin. The power of change Internet has brought into people’s lives is indisputable. The convenience of online shopping has since replaced the need to have to leave home to shop for clothing, home essentials, groceries and etc. Wal-Mart is compelled to invest even more over the past several years as online sales, as a whole, continue to show massive growth. Cost remains a big issue for Wal-Mart’s experiment with online service.

 

bluevp

Using the VIC calculator, we find that Wal-Mart achieves business confident level of 7 accordingly to the analysis. Based on long term EPS growth rate of 7.29%, the current price is overvalued with negative margin of safety.

Despite the steadily increasing dividends payout in the last 10 years, the latest dividend at 2.85% falls short of our required 5% dividend yield. The current P/B at 2.7 indicates that this stock is overvalued.

Although Wal-Mart has the lowest P/B (Target; 2nd lowest at 3.8) and highest dividend yield (Average of 1.75%) of the retail group, these valuation ratios leave a big gap to meet our requirements. Wal-Mart is more about capital preservation (Asset Play) in view of its slow but steady growth. This stock is neither attractively valued for investors seeking earnings-driven price appreciation nor dividend play.

Based on the FY17 Guidance on the projected figures on the key ratios, we shall review this stock again by last quarter of 2016 on its addition to our portfolio.

vpwm1111

 

mnobl

Wal-Mart Stores Inc., is headed by Gregory B. Penner, son-in-law of S. Robson Walton and the grandson-in-law of Sam Walton, who serves as Chairman of the Board. Doug McMillon serves as President and Chief Executive Officer. Wal-Mart is a family-owned business, controlled by the Walton family. After Sam Walton's death in 1992, Don Soderquist, Chief Operating Officer and Senior Vice Chairman, became known as the "Keeper of the Culture”. Sam Walton's heirs own over 50 percent of Walmart through their holding company, Walton Enterprises, and through their individual holdings. Wal-Mart is governed by a fifteen-member Board of Directors elected annually by shareholders.

 

corporate actionsb

The last dividend date of Wal-Mart is on February 19, 2015. The Board of Directors approved the fiscal 2016 annual dividend of $1.96 per share, an increase compared to the fiscal 2015 annual dividend of $1.92 per share, representing 42 consecutive years of dividend increases. For fiscal 2016, the annual dividend will be paid in four quarterly installments of $0.49 per share.

cawm1

 

Shareholder returns were provided through dividends and share repurchases.

ca2

 

 

huat factors bl

Wal-Mart Sales Strategies

Wal-Mart has plans to strengthen supercentre format, optimize neighbourhood markets, add supply chain capabilities and build a digital relationship with customers, all in an effort to increase their sales from year 2016 onwards.

huat1

ca2

 

Low income group as core customer

The company’s core customers fall in the $35,000 per year income group. As spending on gas and energy bills makes up a larger percent of their disposable income versus higher income demographics, incremental cash benefits are expected to be particularly acute. The average driver will save about $38 a month on gas in the fourth quarter, according to data from Bloomberg Intelligence. In total, consumers are spending 80 percent of their gas savings on goods and services, according to JPMorgan Chase & Co. Lower gas prices may coax shoppers to shop more frequently at Wal-Mart.

Private transportation fleet

Most retailers outsource ground transportation to trucking companies. Wal-Mart however has its own huge private transportation fleet consisting 6,650 delivery trucks that deliver 80 percent of its merchandise directly from Wal-Mart’s distribution centres to its stores. Wal-Mart will realize significant cost benefits due to the ongoing gas price deflation.

No slotting fees for suppliers

Unlike many other retailers, Wal-Mart does not charge slotting fees (listing fees) to suppliers for their products to appear in the store. Instead, it focuses on selling more popular products and provides incentives for store managers to drop unpopular products. The company's strategy has always been to offer the lowest prices possible, undercutting essentially all traditional retailers.

Investment on e-Commerce

Wal-Mart has been frantically trying to beef up its online presence to take on one of its largest competitors, Amazon.com. Wal-Mart has invested more resources into its e-commerce platform, testing faster shipping services and even the use of drones in its deliveries. Wal-Mart has sped up its free pick-up service for online groceries bringing the number of stores that offer the service to 140 in 25 markets. Wal-Mart board of directors consists of IT experts including Marissa A. Mayer, who is President and CEO of Yahoo!, Inc. and Kevin Systrom, who is CEO and Co-Founder, Instagram.

Free pick-up services for online groceries

Wal-Mart take full advantage of its 4,500+ U.S. stores in lowering delivery costs for its customers to give them a better incentive to shop online. Wal-Mart's Site-To-Store program, which was introduced in March 2007, enables walmart.com customers to buy goods online with a free shipping option, and have goods shipped to the nearest store for pickup. After all, studies have shown that ordering online costs 50% more than making in-store purchases. Wal-Mart stores are geared to handle in-store pickups of online orders by customers, with the recent opening of a 1-million square foot facility in Atlanta bringing its fully-optimized fulfilment centres to five.

Dynamic pricing

Dynamic pricing is Amazon’s way of adjusting the prices of its products on an almost daily basis. Recently Wal-Mart online prices have remained within 5% of Amazon’s, and have been shifting with almost Amazon-esque regularity. The mere 5% difference between Amazon prices and Wal-Mart's is the best by any online retailer.

Wage hikes & training for employees

Wal-Mart is also investing in its employees by raising wages, improving training, and boosting benefits, all in an effort to reduce turnover, improve productivity, and make its stores more pleasant for customers. Better trained and paid staff and e-commerce gains should be able to up-sell customers on higher ticket items which carry more margins.

These actions will cause earnings to decline both this year and next year, according to the company. Once these near-term headwinds are overcome, free cash flow will return to (if not increase) former levels.

huat3

 

Payment options

Wal-Mart now focuses on other payment options, such as increased use of six- and twelve-month, zero-interest financing, making it even more affordable for low-income shoppers.

Wal-Mart also introduced its first-ever mobile payment system called “Walmart Pay.” The payment system can be linked to any major credit card, debit card, prepaid credit card, or Walmart gift card. The mobile app also works with both “iOS”- and “Android”-based devices. With the launch of Walmart Pay, the company becomes the only retailer to offer its own customized payment solution to customers. The payment feature will be launched nationwide by the first half of 2016.

The neat part about Walmart Pay is that instead of becoming a rival for “Apple Pay,” the company is emulating something else—the Starbucks app. The coffee giant’s app’s mobile payment feature has grown tremendously since its launch. Right now, mobile payments account for 20% of all of Starbucks’ in-store transactions in the U.S., more than double the figure from a year ago. By integrating the payment feature into the Walmart app, Walmart could enjoy something quite big: the 22 million customers who are already actively using the Walmart app each month. The Walmart app also ranks among the top three retail apps in both the Apple and Google app stores.

Stores closing

As Wal-Mart grows more in areas such as superstores and e-commerce, it will wind down markets and stores where it hasn't been able to make an impact. In Brazil, for example, the company will close 60 stores as profit margins are too low. The stores that are being closed represent less than 1% of both global square footage and turnover which means earnings will only be adversely impacted in the near term before e-commerce and pick-up gain more traction

This should be good news for income investors in that the company is being prudent and disciplined in how it wants to grow. Wal-Mart's strategy is to significantly increase its net dollar amount in sales per square foot in its superstores. Protecting the financials is key; so expect at least a 2% rise in the quarterly dividend to $0.50 a share in fiscal 2017.

sianfactorsbl

Wal-Mart possible downsides include the following:

Wage Hikes & Training for Employees

Wal-Mart was constantly heckled over its low pay for its workers. Following Wal-Mart employees’ strike during Black Friday 2014 in hopes of achieving higher pay, in February 2015, Wal-Mart announced their plan to hike the minimum wages for its US workforce, from minimum wage to $9/hour for 2015, and again to $10/hr in 2016.

While this should help solve Wal-Mart’s high employee turnover rate, it comes at a steep cost. The company estimates the wage hike will cost an additional of $1.2 billion and $1.5 billion respectively in 2015 & 2016. Wal-Mart has also pledged to continue providing employees with training to help promote career growth.

Investment on E-Commerce

Online shopping continues to be a massive area of growth and Amazon dominates the space. Wal-Mart is attempting to take some shares away from its competitor; however this move requires time and resources.

Wal-Mart’s e-commerce sales growth has slowed down from 30% recorded during Q3 2013 to just 10% during Q3 2015. Wal-Mart’s online sales totaled $13.2 billion through the first nine months of the current year, compared to $71.8 billion by Amazon, yet Amazon reported 23% sales growth during the last quarter, demonstrating the huge gulf between the two companies. Wal-Mart remains the second-largest online retailer, but risks losing too much market share to its rivals if its online sales growth continues on its downward spiral.

Conclusively, net income could fall further with wage hikes, e-commerce investment and re-modelling of superstores. Elevated capital expenditure spend can upset long term Wal-Mart investors as cash flows (which affect buybacks and dividend growth rates) are always smaller when more money is being pumped back into the business.

Nevertheless, as the top line has held up for Wal-Mart US, the bearish shift in sentiment was attributed to earnings pressure from labour/e-commerce investments, and with expectations now reset, we see little incremental earnings risk at this point.

 

[Case study written on 16 Mar 2016 by Winon Lye, Malaysia]

References:

[1] Information adapted from Morning Star website:

http://financials.morningstar.com/ratios/r.html?t=WMT&region=usa&culture=en-US

[2] Information extracted from Amigo Bulls:

http://amigobulls.com/articles/why-the-bearish-commentary-on-wal-mart-stock-is-overblown

[3] Information extracted from CNBC:

http://www.cnbc.com/2016/01/12/whats-behind-wal-marts-lonely-rally.html

[4] Information extracted from Wikipedia:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Walmart

[5] Information extracted from Barrons:

http://blogs.barrons.com/stockstowatchtoday/2015/12/14/why-tumbling-oil-prices-are-great-news-for-wal-mart/

 

 

[7] Information extracted from Market Watch:

http://www.marketwatch.com/story/wal-mart-aided-by-low-oil-prices-was-the-only-dow-stock-in-positive-territory-today-2016-01-07

[8] Information extracted from Bloomberg:

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2015-12-14/wal-mart-seen-as-big-winner-from-oil-dropping-below-35-a-barrel

[9] Information extracted from Wall Street:

http://247wallst.com/retail/2016/02/18/why-wal-mart-is-the-best-dow-stock-so-far-in-2016/

[10] Information extracted from Investopedia:

http://www.investopedia.com/articles/economics/08/consumer-staples.asp

http://www.investopedia.com/articles/markets/111115/why-walmarts-stock-price-keeps-falling.asp

[11] Information extracted from Financial Post:

http://business.financialpost.com/news/retail-marketing/how-wal-mart-stores-inc-stands-to-win-big-from-oil-below-35-a-barrel

[12] Information extracted from Profit Confidential:

http://www.profitconfidential.com/stock/wmt-stock-could-this-catalyst-send-wal-mart-stores-inc-soaring/

[13] Information extracted from Forbes:

http://www.forbes.com/sites/timworstall/2015/12/15/the-biggest-beneficiary-of-the-oil-price-collapse-could-be-walmart-itself/#7a856a6d205e

[14] Information extracted from Fool:

http://www.fool.com/investing/general/2016/03/11/forget-costco-wholesale-corporation-here-are-2-bet.aspx?source=iedfolrf0000001

NO COMMENTS

LEAVE A REPLY